July 24, 2021
  • 3:57 pm Armored Saint announces tour dates with Black Label Society, Prong
  • 2:00 pm Space Chaser releases new album, ‘Give Us Life’, worldwide
  • 3:59 pm Jim Matheos’ Tuesday The Sky reveals details for new album, ‘The Blurred Horizon’
  • 3:30 pm Cryptic Shift signs worldwide deal with Metal Blade Records
  • 2:00 pm Behemoth: ‘Sventevith (Storming Near the Baltic)’ CD and vinyl re-issues now available via Metal Blade Records

On January 29th, TRIBULATION will release their new album, “Where the Gloom Becomes Sound”, via Century Media Records (worldwide excluding North America). For a first impression of the album, the video for its first single “Leviathans” (produced by Ulf Lundén) can be viewed HERE!

“Where the Gloom Becomes Sound” is also available for pre-order HERE in the following formats:

* Ltd. Deluxe bone colored LP & Bonus Zoetrope LP Artbook feat. bonus tracks

* Ltd. CD Mediabook feat. bonus track

* Standard CD Jewelcase

* Ltd. black LP with 16-page-booklet

* Digital Album

* Ltd. deep blood red LP with 16-page-booklet – limited to 200 copies, only available at CMDistro EU

* Ltd. dark green LP with 16-page-booklet – limited to 400 copies

* Ltd. transp. red LP with 16-page-booklet – limited to 100 copies, only available at Kingsroad

* Ltd. transp. magenta LP with 16-page-booklet – limited to 200 copies, only available at Bengans

* Ltd. transp. sun yellow LP with 16-page-booklet – limited to 100 copies, only available at CMDistro EU

* Ltd. trans. petrol green LP with 16-page-booklet – limited to 200 copies, only available at EMP

* Ltd. neon orange LP with 16-page-booklet – limited to 200 copies, only available at Nuclear Blast

TRIBULATION checked in with the following comment about “Leviathans”: “Your first morsel to the gloom-made soundscape of our new album is something that we conjured up from the cataracts and that comes in the shape of a torrential flood, an oblation to the ‘spirits of the sea and of change’, to the Leviathans!”

TRIBULATION entered Linus Björklund’s Studio Ryssviken in April and exited (informally) nearly two months later. The group – guitarists Adam Zaars and Jonathan Hultén, Johannes Andersson (vocals/bass), and Oscar Leander (drums) – used the first 10 days of their studio time to rehearse. Once the bone-oil had sufficiently run its course, the group and co-producer Jamie Elton started to hammer into the rudiments of the recording process. Elton, who also serves as TRIBULATION’s soundman and is a long-time friend, took the reins from Martin Ehrencrona, who helmed the 2018 Down Below sessions. Together, they crafted a well-appointed production, one that’s luxuriously grim and auricularly inviting. “Where the Gloom Becomes Sound” was then given to Grammy-nominated producer Tom Dalgety (Ghost, Rammstein) to mix at Psalm Studios. Once the mixing was finished – Dalgety would send over versions from his studio in Wales – TRIBULATION re-enlisted Magnus Lindberg at Redmount Studios in Stockholm to master.

The band’s resulting fifth full-length indisputably elevates the Swedes to the highest echelons. The source of their glinting darkness: a yawning, bottomless rift deep within. “We immersed ourselves in the world of myth and magic,” says Zaars. “With a specific focus on elemental magic, and the elements, in general, from both the Western and Indian esoteric traditions, not the Buddhist four elements but the five elements. Myth and magic are obviously not something new in the world of TRIBULATION, but it got a bit more specific on this album. We just present it from a slightly different perspective.”

“Where the Gloom Becomes Sound”isn’t representative of monumental change, but rather the accrual of ambition over time in conjunction with continued exposure to and profound experiments with crossroads devilry. Being their most expressive and inventive album to-date, where it will take them is only to greatness and with reverence.

Where the Gloom Becomes Sound track-listing

  1. In Remembrance
  2. Hour of the Wolf
  3. Leviathans
  4. Dirge of a Dying Soul
  5. Lethe
  6. Daughter of the Djinn
  7. Elementals
  8. Inanna
  9. Funeral Pyre
  10. The Wilderness

Bonus tracks:

The Dhampir, Pt. I *

The Dhampir **

Månvisan ***

*) Bonus on Ltd. CD Mediabook, First chapter of the song

**) Bonus on Ltd. Deluxe LP Artbook, Complete version of the 18-minute song

***) Bonus on Ltd. Deluxe LP Artbook, Instrumental song

A brief album teaser clip can be seen here: https://youtu.be/gsv97LhlD0I

Most recently, TRIBULATION have re-scheduled their upcoming European tour together withBØLZER and Molassess in support of the new album. See a list of the newly announced dates and other live-appearances for 2021 here:

TRIBULATION “Where the Gloom Becomes Sound Europa 2021” tour dates

w/ BØLZER & Molassess

Sept. 17, 2021 – Copenhagen (Denmark) – Pumpehuset

Sept. 18, 2021 – Hamburg (Germany) – Gruenspan

Sept. 19, 2021 – Utrecht (The Netherlands) – De Helling

Sept. 21, 2021 – Vosselaar (Belgium) – Biebob

Sept. 22, 2021 – London (UK) – The Dome

Sept. 23, 2021 – Paris (France) – Petit Bain

Sept. 24, 2021 – Milan (Italy) – Slaughter Club

Sept. 25, 2021 – Aarburg (Switzerland) – Musigburg

Sept. 26, 2021 – Essen (Germany) – Turock

Sept. 28, 2021 – Heidelberg (Germany) – Halle 2

Sept. 29, 2021 – Munich (Germany) – Technikum

Sept. 30, 2021 – Krakow (Poland) – Kwadrat

Oct. 1, 2021 – Prague (Czech Republic) – Nova Chmelnice

Oct. 2, 2021 – Budapest (Hungary) – Barba Negra

Oct. 3, 2021 – Vienna (Austria) – Szene

Oct. 5, 2021 – Berlin (Germany) – Hole44

Oct. 6, 2021 – Malmö (Sweden) – Babel

Oct. 8, 2021 – Gothenburg (Sweden) – Valand

Oct. 9, 2021 – Oslo (Norway) – Parkteatret

TRIBULATION live 2021:
June 20, 2021 – Dessel (Belgium) – Graspop Metal Meeting
June 15-17, 2021 – Gävle (Sweden) – Gefle Metal Festival
Aug. 3-7, 2021 – Bergen (Norway) – Beyond The Gates Festival
Sept. 12, 2021 – Stockholm (Sweden) – Macken Festival


Source: Century media