September 24, 2020
  • 3:00 pm Fight The Fight releases new album, ‘Deliverance’, worldwide
  • 3:00 pm Déluge reveals details for new album, ‘Ægo Templo’
  • 3:00 pm Armored Saint launches video for new single, “Standing on the Shoulders of Giants”
  • 1:01 pm Artillery to release “The Last Journey” single as tribute to Morten Stützer on vinyl and digitally October 16th!
  • 3:00 pm Rivers of Nihil: ‘Monarchy’ LP re-issues now available via Metal Blade Records

Today Finnish melancholy death-doom metal act SWALLOW THE SUN is releasing a new live video to the song “Firelights” recorded at John Smith Festival in July this year. “Firelights” is taken from the band’s latest album “When A Shadow Is Forced Into The Light”, which came out in January 2019.

Watch the video here: 

SWALLOW THE SUN continue touring Europe, starting on October 31 in Copenhagen, Denmark. Support is coming from Swedish death doom metal act October Tide and fellow Finns Oceanwake.


“When A Shadow Is Forced Into The Light Tour 2019 – Pt. II”

w/ October Tide, Oceanwake

31.10.19 (DK) Copenhagen, Stengade

01.11.19 (D) Flensburg, Roxy

02.11.19 (D) Osnabrück, Bastard Club

03.11.19 (NL) Rotterdam, Dutch Doom Days

04.11.19 (FR) Paris, Backstage

05.11.19 (CH) Pratteln, Mini Z7

06.11.19 (IT) Retorbido, Dagda Club

07.11.19 (IT) Rome, Traffic Club

08.11.19 (SLO) Ljubljana, Orto Bar

09.11.19 (PL) Krakow, Zascianek

10.11.19 (SVK) Bratislava, Randal Club

11.11.19 (HU) Budapest, Dürer Kert

12.11.19 (CZ) Plzen, Pod Lampou

13.11.19 (D) Munich, Backstage

14.11.19 (D) Berlin, Cassiopeia

15.11.19 (D) Weimar, Uhrenwerk

16.11.19 (D) Würzburg, Hammer Of Doom*

17.11.19 (D) Hannover, Bei Chez Heinz**

*only Swallow The Sun

**without Oceanwake

Fueled by personal loss (the album title has its origins in Trees of Eternity’s “Broken Mirror”) and powered by the will to continue, “When A Shadow Is Forced Into The Light” showcases the group’s ability to maintain its signature sound while expanding upon horizons and diving deeper into the crevasse of doom-death metal. While the previous released single “Lumina Aurea” marks the band’s darkest and most sinister piece of music the band has ever released, “When A Shadow Is Forced Into The Light” follows a more positive approach and continues in the vein of previous albums – first-rate death-doom in the typical style of SWALLOW THE SUN.

Get the album here:


Mikko Kotamäki – Vocals

Matti Honkonen – Bass

Juuso Raatikainen – Drums

Jaani Peuhu – Keys & Vocals

Juho Räihä – Guitar

Juha Raivio – Guitar & Keys


Source: Century media