July 24, 2021
  • 3:57 pm Armored Saint announces tour dates with Black Label Society, Prong
  • 2:00 pm Space Chaser releases new album, ‘Give Us Life’, worldwide
  • 3:59 pm Jim Matheos’ Tuesday The Sky reveals details for new album, ‘The Blurred Horizon’
  • 3:30 pm Cryptic Shift signs worldwide deal with Metal Blade Records
  • 2:00 pm Behemoth: ‘Sventevith (Storming Near the Baltic)’ CD and vinyl re-issues now available via Metal Blade Records

For this very special release ICED EARTH’s mastermind Jon Schaffer has teamed up with his old pals in PURGATORY, the band that he originally founded in 1985, then later became ICED EARTH, to record five tracks that were written between 1985 and 1987, now to be released as the “Purgatory” EP today.


Produced and mixed by Jon Schaffer and Jim Morris and mastered by Zeuss this very fine release showcases the foundation of the invincible metal monster known as ICED EARTH. All five tracks featured on the EP offer real US metal and perfectly capture the spirit of the mid 1980’s with a powerful production, rounded up by liner notes or comments of Jon Schaffer, Gene Adam, Greg Seymour and Bill Owen and a fitting cover artwork by David Newman Stump and Roy Young, known from their excellent work on ICED EARTH’s latest album “Incorruptible”. The greatest surprise might be Gene Adam, ICED EARTH’s original singer who sang on the band’s self-titled debut album from 1990, who delivers his best vocal performance ever.

The “Purgatory” EP is available in the following formats:

  • Limited Digipak CD
  • Limited LP (with 180 gram vinyl, 4-page inlay and etching)
  • Digitally

The vinyl version is available in the following colours:

  • Black vinyl: Unlimited
  • Transparent-blue vinyl: limited to 100 copies, exclusively available at CM Distro Europe – SOLD OUT
  • Transparent-orange vinyl: limited to 200 copies, available at CM Distro Europa
  • Clear vinyl: limited to 200 copies, exclusively available at Nuclear Blast
  • Lilac vinyl: limited to 300 copies, exclusively available in the USA

The “Purgatory” EP can be ordered here: https://jonschafferspurgatory.lnk.to/PurgatoryEP

Jon Schaffer’s PURGATORY is:

Jon Schaffer – Rhythm & Lead Guitars, Vocals

Gene Adam – Lead Vocals

Bill Owen – Lead Guitar

Guest appearances by:

Jim Morris – Lead Guitar

Ruben Drake – Bass Guitar

Mark Prator – Drums

Source: Century media